News & Events

Meetings in the field of microcirculation and vascular biology & medicine
Please notify us about any events which you would like to appear on this webpage! Also National Society Meetings can be included! contact the Communication Officer, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Postdoctoral position

Umeå University, Medicinska fakulteten

Umeå University is dedicated to providing creative environments for learning and work. We offer a wide variety of courses and programs, world leading research, and excellent innovation and collaboration opportunities. More than 4 000 employees and 30 000 students have already chosen Umeå University. We welcome your application!

The Department of Clinical Microbiology, Umeå University, is looking for a research associate (postdoc) on a 2 year position. The associate will be active in a research project aiming at elucidating the contribution of endothelial glycocalyx degradation to hemorrhagic fever with renal syndrome (HFRS) disease and pathogenesis caused by Puumala virus infection. The long term goal is to identify novel targets for intervention.

Last day to apply is: 2019-12-02

Details of the research topic, responsibilities, selection criteria, research environment and application can be read in this document.

Award Winners ESM-EVBO Maastricht 2019

ESM Travel Award for Early Career Investigators

Dr. Stephanie Herkenne University of Liege, Belgium
Ms. Marloes Sol University Medical Centre Groningen, Netherlands
Ms. Nicole A.M. Dekker Vrije University, Amsterdam
Dr. Rio Juni Vrije University, Amsterdam
Ms. Sarah McNeilly University of Glasgow, UK

ESM International Travel Award for Early Career Investigators

Ms. Nathalie Obadia Oswaldo Cruz Foundation, Brazil
Miss Rui Ning Chia Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Ms. Marina Leardini-Tristão Oswaldo Cruz Foundation, Brazil

Poster Awards

Renee Tillie University of Maastricht, Netherlands
Goekhan Pehlivan German Centre for Neurodegenerative Diseases
Hanna Jonasson University of Linkoping, Sweden


Sohni Ria Bhalla University of Nottingham, UK
Wenjie Li University of Maastricht, Netherlands
Mieke Karel University of Maastricht, Netherlands
Sofia Morsing Sanquin, Netherlands
Silvia Martin-Almedina St Georges, University of London, UK


2nd ESM/EVBO Summer School in Kraków

Hermann Rein Award 2019

Servier Award for Microcirculation

The German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology invites scientists to apply for the Hermann Rein Award for excellent contributions to the field of experimental and clinical research in microcirculation and vascular biology sponsored by Servier Deutschland GmbH.

This prize of 2.000 € will be awarded at the upcoming Meeting of the German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology held 25–27 October 2019 in Heidelberg. The awardee will be chosen by a panel of referees from three selected finalists, which present their work in a special Hermann Rein Award session at the meeting.
We accept individual applications and nominations by colleagues.

All applications should be sent by Email until July 15, 2019 to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

more details >>

German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology Meeting
Heidelberg October 2019

Dear honored members of the European Society for Microcirculation,

The meeting of the German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology (GfMVB) in Heidelberg is drawing closer and we are currently finalizing the main program.
You are cordially invited to submit your abstracts (deadline: July 31) and apply for the young investigator awards. Take the chance to participate in a conference covering the field of vascular biology, discuss your data with international experts, make contact with the scientific community in a stimulating atmosphere, share your thoughts with other scientists and enjoy the social events!
Additional information about the meeting is available on our conference website.

I am looking forward meeting you in Heidelberg!
Thank you very much and best wishes,

Prof. Thomas Korff
President of the German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology

ESM Malpighi Award winner 2019

It is our great pleasure and honour to announce that the ESM Malpighi Award Committee has voted for Prof. Ákos Koller to be the 2019 ESM Malpighi Award winner. The award winner will receive the Gold Malpighi Medal and a life-long membership of the ESM, and deliver the prestigious Malpighi Lecture at the forthcoming ESM meeting in Maastricht, NL, 15-18 April 2019. This lecture is scheduled on Thursday, 18 April at 11:00h.

ESM Malpighi Award Committee

Additional information