The Malpighi Award (1976 - 2015)

This is the most prestigious award of the European Society for Microcirculation (ESM).  Given to an individual of internationally outstanding reputation in any field of microcirculation research.  The individual will deliver the prestigious Malpighi Lecture at the forthcoming ESM meeting in Pisa, Italy, 3-6 June 2015 and will receive the Gold Malpighi medal and Free Life Membership of the ESM.

Applications should consist of a letter of commendation together with a two page CVs.  Please send nominations to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .  The Malpighi Prize Committee, is constituted to include: ESM Treasurer, Secretary and President, the last two Awardees, one other representative of the Executive Committee.  Voting is by secret ballot.  The deadline for nomination is Monday 8 December 2014.

2015: Prof Angela Shore (University of Exeter Medical School, United Kingdom)
2013: Prof. dr. Steven S Segal (Un. of Missouri Health System, USA)
2011: Axel Pries (Un. Charité Berlin, Germany)
2010: Klaus Ley (Un. La Jolla, USA)
2008: Olga Hudlicka (Un. of Birmingham, UK)
2006: Ulrich Pohl (Dept. of Physiology, LMU Munich, Germany)
2004: Brian R. Duling (Charlottesville, VA, USA)
2002: Michael J. Mulvany (Dept. of Pharmacology, University of Aarhus, Denmark)
2000: Robert S. Reneman (Dept. of Physiology, Cardiovascular Research Institute Maastricht, Netherlands)
1998: Konrad Messmer (Dept. ofSurgical Research, Klinikum Großhadern, LMU, Munich, Germany)
1996: Bengt Fagrell (Dept. of Medicine, Karolinska Sjukhuset, Stockholm, Sweden)
1994: Marcos Intaglietta (Dept. of AMES, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA)
1992: Alfred Bollinger (Dept. of Angiology, University Hospital, Zürich, Switzerland)
1990: Peter Gaehtgens (Dept. of Physiology, Free University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany)
1988: H. Wayland †
1986: C. Crone †
1984: C.C. Michel (first medal recipient)
1980: B. Zweifach †
1978: M.Wiedeman
1976: M. Steinhausen

Additional information